Volume 36

Spring 2018

Mission Statement

The College Hill Independent is a Providence-based publication written, illustrated, designed, and edited by students from Brown and RISD. Our paper is distributed around Providence’s East Side and Downtown, as well as online. In addition to publishing 20 pages of original writing, reporting, and art once a week, the Indy functions as an open workshop in which writers, artists, and designers collaborate and provide feedback on their work. Through an extensive editing process, we challenge each other to be responsible, intentional, and self-critical.

We are committed to publishing politically engaged and accessible work. While the Indy is financed by Brown University, we hold ourselves accountable to our readers across the Providence community. The Indy rejects content that explicitly or implicitly perpetuates racism, sexism, homophobia, transphobia, xenophobia, ableism and/or classism.

Though this list is not exhaustive, the Indy strives to address these systems of oppression by centering the voices, opinions, and efforts of marginalized people in Providence and beyond.

The Indy is constantly evolving: we are always working to make our staff and content more inclusive. Though our editing process provides an internal structure for accountability, we always welcome letters to the editor.

Spring 2018



Isabel DeBre

Chris Packs

week in review

Julia Rock


Harry August

Erin West


Nora Gosselin

Cate Turner

Isabelle Rea


Ruby Gerber

Wen Zhuang

Paula Pacheco Soto


Dominique Pariso

Eve Zelickson


Liz Cory

Tara Sharma


Paige Parsons

Olivia Kan-Sperling


Maya Bjornson


Gabriela Naigeborin


Fadwa Ahmed

Isabelle Doyle


Zak Ziebell


Jane Argodale

Alexis Gordon

Fadwa Ahmed

staff writers

Galadriel Brady

Mica Chow

Ella Comberg

Mara Dolan

Soraya Ferdman

Liby Hays

Anna Hundert

Lillian Kirby

Lucas Smolcic Larson

Mariela Pichardo

Ivy Scott

Marly Toledano

Sara Van Horn

Kayli Wren

Kion You

design editor

Eliza Chen


Amos Jackson

Laura Kenney

Ashley Min

Katherine Sang

Mariel Solomon

Bethany Hung

illustrations editor

Eve O'Shea

Claire Schlaikjer

staff illustrators

Julie Benbassat

Alexandra Hanesworth

Kela Johnson

Halle Krieger

Sophia Meng

Pia Mileaf-Patel

Teri Minogue

Ivan Rios-Fetchko

Ella Rosenblatt

Kelly Wang

Dorothy Windham

Katya Labowe-Stoll

Rémy Poisson

copy editor

Shuchi Agrawal

Grace Berg

Benjamin Bienstock

Seamus Flynn

Sasha Raman

Caiya Sanchez-Strauss


Maria Gonzalez

social media

Fadwa Ahmed

Pia Mileaf-Patel


Alyssa McGillvery

alumni relations

Julia Tompkins

senior editors

Jane Argodale

Kelton Ellis

Robin Manley

Will Weatherly

managing editors

Jonah Max

Katrina Northrop

Signe Swanson

Editorial Policy

All submissions become property of The Indy. An editorial or blog post that appears without a byline represents the views of The Indy. Any other column, letter or image is the work of the attributed author and does not necessarily represent the views or opinions of The Indy.


The Indy welcomes all contributions (of words, images and letters) from current Brown and RISD students. If you’re looking to join our editorial staff, you can download the editor application from our website at the end of each semester. We also host an information session / new writers meeting every September and February; all are encouraged to attend.

Please send submissions to [email protected]. You may also send pitches, submissions, or requests to join the contributors’ mailing list to individual sections at the addresses below.


[email protected]


[email protected]


[email protected]

Snail Mail

The College Hill Independent
PO Box 1930
Brown University
Providence RI 02912